• All
  • Committees
  • Departments
  • FAQs
  • News
  • Resources
  • Events

{{item.title | truncate 40}}

{{item.description | truncate 130}}

{{item.categories.join(', ')}}
Sorry, there are no results matching your criteria.
Menu Close

Mayor Ron Smith

Ron Smith has served as the City’s 25th Mayor since November 2018

Ron Smith was officially sworn in as Sparks’ Mayor on November 13, 2018.

Smith was elected to the Sparks City Council in November 2006 and was re-elected to four-year terms in 2008, 2012 and 2016. He served as Sparks Mayor Pro Tempore from 2012-2018. 

Smith is a strong advocate for transportation and infrastructure needs in the City and region.  He is the Chairman of the Regional Transportation Commission of Washoe County, the Truckee Meadows Flood Management Authority, and the Sparks Tourism and Marketing Committee. He was the 2012 recipient of the Public Official of the Year Award, presented annually by the Builders Association of Northern Nevada. 

Ron and his wife Karen have been married for nearly 40 years, and have four children and nine grandchildren.

Contact Mayor Ron Smith:
Office:   (775) 353-2311
email:   rsmith@cityofsparks.us

Boards and Commissions:

  • Chair, Regional Transportation Commission (RTC)
  • Sparks Tourism & Marketing Committee
  • Truckee Meadows Water Authority (TMWA)
  • Truckee River Flood Management Authority – Board of Directors
  • Western Regional Water Commission – appointed by TMWA