• All
  • Committees
  • Departments
  • FAQs
  • News
  • Resources
  • Events

{{item.title | truncate 40}}

{{item.description | truncate 130}}

{{item.categories.join(', ')}}
Sorry, there are no results matching your criteria.
Menu Close

Mayor & City Council

Council Minutes Archive

Get information and more details from previous City Council meetings going back to 2006. Older minutes can be requested by contacting the City.


Get information on the current ward representatives as well as any vacancies across the areas.

Mayor Ron Smith

Ron Smith was officially sworn in as Sparks' Mayor on November 13, 2018.

Sparks City Manager

Stephen W. Driscoll joined the City of Sparks in 1994 as a Budget Analyst.  In 1995, he became the Administrator of the Sparks Municipal Court.  In 2000, he was appointed to Assistant City Manager.  In March 2014, Mr. Driscoll was appointed City Manager by Sparks Mayor Geno R. Martini and confirmed by the City Council.

Assistant City Manager

Mr. Krutz arrived at the City in July 1997, beginning his Sparks career in the design and construction division of the public works department.  Among his early capital project assignments was the gravel-pit-to-beach project, now lovingly called the Sparks Marina Park.  He has served in many roles for the City during his 20+ year tenure and was named Assistant City Manager in April 2016.

City Council Meetings

Get information and agendas for the latest city council meetings and dates and times for upcoming meetings.

Ward 1

Councilman Donald Abbott was elected to his first term serving the City and residents of Ward 1 in November 2016.

Ward 2

Ed Lawson was elected to the City Council in November, 2010, reelected in 2014 and 2018 and elected Mayor Pro Tempore in November 2018. He was born in Sunnyside, WA, and grew up in Las Vegas, NV.  He attended Colorado State University in Fort Collins, CO.

Ward 3

Paul Anderson was appointed as Ward 3 Councilman by Mayor Ron Smith on December 10, 2018.

Ward 4

Charlene Bybee was elected to serve Ward 4 on the Sparks City Council in November 2014 and reelected in 2018. Ms. Bybee is a lifelong Sparks resident who has been an active community leader for more than 30 years.

Ward 5

Councilman Kristopher Dahir was elected to his first term serving the City and residents of Ward 5 in November 2016.

Ward Map

Get information and view the boundary lines for the different wards across the area.