Most recent updates

  • All
  • Committees
  • Departments
  • FAQs
  • News
  • Resources
  • Events

{{item.title | truncate 40}}

{{item.description | truncate 130}}

{{item.categories.join(', ')}}
Sorry, there are no results matching your criteria.
Menu Close

Ed Lawson to be Sworn in as the 26th Mayor of Sparks on Monday, September 14

Sparks, NV – The City of Sparks will swear in Ed Lawson as its 26th mayor on Monday, September 14 at 2:00 pm in the Sparks Legislative Building.

Mayor Lawson was elected to the Sparks City Council in November 2010, reelected in 2014 and 2018 and was appointed Mayor Pro Tempore in November of 2018. He will serve out the remainder of Mayor Ron Smith’s term through the November 2022 election cycle. Mayor Smith died last month of cancer. 

“I’m extremely honored to have the great privilege of serving as mayor of the City of Sparks,” Lawson said. “I am deeply saddened by the death of my friend and mentor, Mayor Ron Smith, and plan to continue the amazing work he has done for this great city.”

Mayor Lawson is a champion for economic development, serves on the Regional Planning Governing Board, the Reno-Sparks Convention and Visitors Authority (RSCVA) Board of Directors, the Community Homelessness Advisory Board, Legislative Team, and several other boards and commissions. He is an active member in the Rotary Club of Sparks and has been recognized as the 2014 Public Official of the Year by the Builders Association of Northern Nevada.

Mayor Lawson has chosen Dian VanderWell to fill out his term as councilmember for Ward 2 through November of 2022. During Monday’s meeting, the Sparks City Council will hold a confirmation vote in consideration of his choice. Should Council approve the selection of VanderWell, she will also be sworn in during Monday’s meeting. If Council chooses not to confirm his choice, they will be asked to bring forth the names of two qualified candidates at the September 28, 2020 City Council meeting. The mayor would then select one of those candidates to fill his vacant ward seat.

“Dian comes to us with 12 years of planning commission experience with Washoe County, the City of Sparks and the Regional Planning Commission,” Mayor Lawson said. “She is more than qualified, and I highly recommend her to fill the position as our Ward 2 councilmember.”

VanderWell currently serves on the Sparks Planning Commission, Sparks Charter Committee, Regional Planning Commission and the Technical Review Committee of the Washoe County Home Consortium. She has also served on the Sparks Citizens Advisory Committee and the Sparks Parks and Recreation Commission.

Monday’s council meeting will be held virtually. Only family and media partners will be allowed in council chambers due to social distancing protocols. Masks will be required.

***Note to media: If you’d like to attend the swearing in ceremony in person at the Sparks Legislative Building, please contact Community Relations Manager Julie Duewel prior to the meeting.