• All
  • Committees
  • Departments
  • FAQs
  • News
  • Resources
  • Events

{{item.title | truncate 40}}

{{item.description | truncate 130}}

{{item.categories.join(', ')}}
Sorry, there are no results matching your criteria.
Menu Close

Sparks Municipal Court

Sparks Municipal Court

It is the goal of the Sparks Municipal Court to provide fair, impartial, effective and efficient judicial services to the public. The Sparks Municipal Court is an official court of record established by state statute and adopted by the City of Sparks Municipal Charter.

The Court has two judges who are elected to office for six year terms. As a separate and co-equal branch of government, the Court is responsible for the adjudication of traffic and criminal misdemeanor violations, and code violations that occur within the limits of the City of Sparks.

These are cases in which the maximum penalty for each convicted offense may not exceed six months in jail and/or a fine of $1,000, or any combination of jail and fine(s) not to exceed the combined maximums. Jail sentences and fines for multiple offenses may be ordered to run concurrently or consecutively. Therefore, a consecutive jail sentence may exceed one year. A judge may also suspend a jail sentence or a fine for one (1) to three (3) years on any number of conditions. The Court also administers treatment and supervision for offenders who participate in its specialty court programs, promoting public safety and accountability in those seeking recovery.


Department 1 - Administrative Judge

Judge Barbara S. McCarthy
Judicial Assistant: Sandra Garcia
Phone: (775) 353-2374 Ext: 1

Department 2

Judge James L. Spoo
Judicial Assistant: Mariana Mendez
Phone: (775) 353-2374 Ext: 2