• All
  • Businesses
  • Committees
  • Departments
  • FAQs
  • News
  • Resources
  • Events

{{item.title | truncate 40}}

{{item.description | truncate 130}}

{{item.categories.join(', ')}}
Sorry, there are no results matching your criteria.
Menu Close


The Candidate Filing Period for 2018 was Monday, March 5, 2018 thru Friday, March 16, 2018.

  • The following candidates have filed:
    • Mayor: Jeff Bonano, Ron Smith, Wendy Stolyarov, Eric Wacker
    • Council Ward 2: Ed Lawson
    • Council Ward 4: Charlene T. Bybee, Brian Hunt, Rudy Viola Jr.
    • Municipal Judge: James Spoo

The Primary Election was held on Tuesday, June 12, 2018.  The results are:

Mayor – Ron Smith, declared elected (received more than the majority of votes cast)

Council Ward 2 – Ed Lawson, declared elected (unopposed)

Council Ward 4 – Charlene Bybee, declared elected (received more than the majority of votes cast)

Municipal Judge Department 2 – James Spoo, declared elected (unopposed)

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018; however, there will not be any candidates for City of Sparks on the general ballot.

All City of Sparks Elections are administered through the Washoe County Registrar of Voters with all current information available on their website: Washoe County Registrar of Voters 

For the Election Summary Report for the 2018 Primary, provided by the Washoe County Registrar of Voters, certified by the Sparks City Council, click here.

For information from the Nevada Secretary of State Election Center, click here.

For information on registering to vote from the Nevada Secretary of State, click here.


Teresa Gardner, City Clerk
(775) 353-2397