City Of Sparks

Mayor - Geno Martini

Mayor Geno MartiniMayor Geno Martini

Geno Martini has served as the City’s 24th Mayor since February, 2005.

In July 1999 Mr. Martini was appointed to the Sparks City Council to complete an unexpired term, representing Ward 3.  Geno was elected Mayor Pro Tempore by the City Council in July 2003 and served in that capacity until February 2005, when he was sworn in as mayor.  He was elected to full terms in 2006, 2010 and 2014.  Mr. Martini is currently the longest-serving mayor of Sparks.

As Mayor, Mr. Martini presides over the state’s fifth largest city.  Under Mayor Martini’s tenure, the City has seen an additional one million square feet of retail businesses open.  He has guided the City during the highest growth periods ever, along with the most tumultuous economic challenges.

Mayor Martini presides over the Truckee Meadows Water Authority and serves on the Board of Directors for the Nevada League of Cities and Municipalities, and the Board of Directors of the Truckee River Flood Management Authority.  Mr. Martini  serves on several other boards, including the Western Regional Water Commission. 

Mr. Martini is a life-long resident of Sparks, graduating from Sparks High School as Student Body President in 1964, and is a graduate of the University of Nevada.  In 2009, he was inducted into the Sparks High School Hall of Fame.  He retired in 2005, following a 30-year career in the banking industry. 

Mayor Martini has received many awards and accolades most recently the 2014 Politician of the Year Award presented annually by the Human Services Network.  Other awards have included the Sparks Chamber Citizen of the Year Award and its Lifetime Achievement Award.  He has been awarded the National Multiple Sclerosis Society Hope Award and the Nevada Chapter of Associated General Contractors SIR Award (Skill, Integrity and Responsibility.)  He is active in a number of civic organizations including serving on the Board of Governors of Northern Nevada Medical Center and is the past president of the Sparks Chamber of Commerce.


Contact Mayor Geno Martini

Office:  775-353-2311



  • Regional Planning Governing Board
  • Board of Directors - Truckee Meadows Water Authority
  • Legislative Team
  • Board of Directors - Truckee River Flood Management Authority
  • Board of Directors - Nevada Leage of Cities and Municipalities
  • Western Regional Water Commission - appointed by TMWRF

Back To Top